Hope for Our Women

I can’t sleep. My heart is heavy. I’ve tried to block the horrors of the news from seeping in but my heart is remembering. A fifteen year old girl is dead and so many more of our women here in Jamaica and across the world are suffering.

I do not pretend I have the answers. I do not want to think.

Tonight while Niya was napping, two gunshots ripped through the silence of the night. I did not panic at the first but when the second shot sounded — so loud it could have been next door — I jumped from my bed, with Niya cradled in my arms. I crouched in the corner and prayed.

This is no place to raise a child. There is no safe place to raise a child.

And yet I am filled with hope. There is something powerful about hope that I think we sometimes forget. Hope often sounds so passive. Like when we say, “I hope I get married some day… or I hope I get a better job…”

But hope is not something you sit back and dream about. It is powerful. A gift from God. Hope is trust in His promises. And what has He promised?

In the scriptures is a promise that Christ, God’s only Begotten Son, gave to all those that trust in Him. He said, “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither be afraid.” (John 14:27) Paul, an apostle of Christ, spoke of the peace of God that passeth all understanding. (Philippians 4:7)

In the turmoils of this world, while the storms of this world threaten our very lives, let us not forget that in Christ we have hope. We can have joy despite all that is ugly about the world around us.

Let’s be that light that shines in the darkness and gives hope to those who are discouraged, downtrodden and afraid. Let’s give hope to our women.

4 Comments

  1. Loveta fletcher says:

    He says. ..in my father’s house are many mansions if it was not so I would have told you
    I go to prepare a place for you, that where I am there you may be also. ..keep the faith. Heavenly Father is with us.

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      He sure is. He is in the very details of our lives. We just need to look close enough to discovery the everyday miracles he is performing on our behalves.

      Like

  2. Robyn says:

    Tricia that sounds absolutely terrifying. I want to tell you to take Niya and run as far as possible from all this danger. But you’re right, there is no safe place to raise a child. 😦

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      It was but thank goodness we are okay.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.