Hard Times Can Be the Best Times

When’s the last time you did something really hard? The kind that makes you grit your teeth as your muscles strain to move mountains. Hard times are usually the most opportunity-rich moments —  the ones that, if we let them, prove we are stronger than we first thought. Let me tell you about my friend.

I have a friend (let’s call her Sue) with a head of hair to envy, and a mind so bright I wonder why she doubts herself. Recently, she told me she was having a hard time. I wondered for a while how best to encourage this dear friend of mine.

I am throwing out a challenge to Sue and all who are having a hard time:  Do not doubt your ability to get through it!

Remember, every problem is an opportunity for you to exercise wisdom. Every challenge is a chance for you to learn and grow. The next time you feel discouraged, ponder this scripture:

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind” (2 Timothy 1:7).

You are strong enough. With God’s help you will get through your hard times. Best of all, you will be better off because of what you have learnt and who you’ve become.

P.S. This post like my previous post about motherhood was written during my daughter’s naptime. I typed with one hand while I held her with the next. Cheers to motherhood!

 

