Vacation’s Over

7pm

Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear friends,

I’m back from vacation abroad. It was a joyous time with a few surprises in the mix like my sister giving birth 3 weeks early, just in time for me to meet my latest niecy, Zahra. I saw the snow, wet as rain, kiss Brooklyn streets, watched city boys perform kicking dance moves in the tight spaces of subways. I gorged on yogurt, dried craisins and mixed nuts, snacks I think should be far more affordable in Jamaica and ate a bit of fast food in my attempt to put on a few pounds :).

Sadly though after returning home I found out that four of my rabbits died while I was gone. They were born only a few months ago and seemed very healthy when I left. My husband said that a few days after he removed them from their mother’s hutch and placed them in separate hutches he noticed that they were wobbling as though their heads were too heavy for them to balance. They also refused to eat. Within a day or so all four were dead.

I haven’t had much time to let the weight of their death settle in. I’m already back at work, my body adjusting to the eight-hours-sitting-around-a-computer routine of being a content writer… Let’s hope no other sad surprises are in sight for the rest of the year.

Speaking of which, it’s almost Christmas! Somehow 2014 feels like the fastest year ever. It’s already 8 months since I began blogging on WordPress. Yikes! Thankfully though I can look back on the year and feel a sense of accomplishment. I completed my book, worked on strengthening my relationship with Christ and visited the temple after almost three years. When I stepped inside the Manhattan temple last Tuesday I felt so blessed, like I was truly in the House of the Lord. I felt like Christ was literally making my burdens light, just as He promised to all those who would come unto Him (Matthew 11: 28-30). I’m also grateful that this year I was able to go back as far as the mid-1800s in genealogy research via familysearch.org.

But the year isn’t done yet and there is still much to do. As I approach Christmas, I want to make an effort to focus on Christ who is the real reason for the season. I also want to take some time to evaluate myself and make plans for the upcoming year. I know there are things I need to improve upon, particularly personal weaknesses. With inspiration from God though, I’ll be able to determine which areas of my life I should focus on in 2015.

I hope you’ll take the time as well to evaluate yourself and make goals that are realistic and measurable. So often it’s easy to get bogged down under the weight of our own personal failures, disappointments and the pressures of this imperfect world. But never forget that you can bring all your concerns to God. He is here, ever so near. He wants you to ask and promises that if you ask, you will be given; if you seek, you will find; if you knock, He will open the door (Matthew 7:7).

I hope you’ll knock this Chrismas. I hope you’ll also take the time to listen to the “inner you” as you contemplate the year that is almost done and your plans for the future. And best of all, for each day that remains in 2014, let it count. Do the best you can.

Take care and talk to you soon.

Love,

Tricia.

P.S. I’ll add some pictures I took on my vacation soon. So keep posted 🙂

**
Here are the pictures I promised.

3 Comments

  1. Debbie says:

    So glad you are back safe and sound. Can’t wait to hear all about your trip this weekend. We will be there for jennifer’s baptism and inservice.

    Like

  2. Hector says:

    Welcome back Tricia 🙂

    Like

  3. carole lee says:

    Welcome back. Glad you enjoyed time with your family. Inspiring and encouraging words as always. Have a great week and I look forward to seeing the pictures.

    Like

Comments are closed.