My Little Fur Balls

First there were two,

2rabbits

then three, then four…

Hubby was adamant:

rabbitswhite

he wanted more and more.

 

And more he got–

rabbits breed up fast.

IMG-20140308-00135

In less than a month

the numbers were vast.

 

Babies were swimming in fur

curled up like commas.

furbabies

I checked on them day and night

and so did their Momma.

IMG-20140301-00115

 

Our favourite was Flem–

perhaps it’s obvious why

Flem

But too soon she died —

I couldn’t help but cry.

 

A surprise birth brought four more

softening the grief.

rabbitsgreens

then a week later

there were six more to greet.

6whiterabbits

 

These rabbits keep us busy

Our little bundles of joy.

3rabbits

We love to tickle their ears,

or hold them in our palms.

rabbitspalm

 

 

 

 

 

23 Comments

  1. Put It Together 4 U says:

    I truly enjoyed this! So sorry for your loss… What sweet, fluffy bundles of joy!!!

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 They’ve surprised me. Never knew I’d love them so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Put It Together 4 U says:

        From a genuine furbaby lover: I can see why you love them! Aren’t they full of personality???

        Like

      2. triciatallen says:

        You have rabbits as well? They truly are. And I love the fact that they aren’t as “high maintenance” or attention-seeking as cats.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Put It Together 4 U says:

        My apologies for being slightly misleading. I do not own any rabbits currently, but I’ve previously owned rabbits, guinea pigs, iguanas (not furry, but fun nonetheless), and MANY more! I currently have a cat and a dog. 🙂 LOL! (See? Furbaby lover!)

        Like

      4. triciatallen says:

        Yup 🙂 Have you written any posts about them? I would love to read about your adventures with those fur-babies 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Put It Together 4 U says:

        Well, since you made mention… I will blog about them today! I hope you enjoy! 🙂 (Thank you for today’s inspiration!)

        Like

      6. triciatallen says:

        No problem. Just send my a link when you post it.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Put It Together 4 U says:

        Will do! Thank you for your support!

        Like

      8. Put It Together 4 U says:

        Hello again, Tricia! Here’s the link for the blog. I mentioned you and added a link to your blog as well. Please feel free to leave a response. Thanks, again!
        http://putittogether4u.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/fur-and-not-so-much-fur-baby-lover/

        Like

  2. trentpmcd says:

    Sounds like all of the jokes about rabbits multiplying are true.

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      Actually they are. It takes rabbits about a month to develop their babies. They can give birth to as many as 18. But most litters average around 6 kittens or so.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. petchary says:

    They are simply gorgeous! Cuddly. I understand they can get pregnant over again while they have babies inside them… ? Something like that!!

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      Yes, sorta. Does have two functional uterine horns and therefore can get pregnant twice. They release an egg after they mate. So you could mate a doe once, then the next day and have a double litter. I wouldn’t recommend it though because it can be a burdensome pregnancy. There’s also the risk of deformities.

      Like

  4. onedogrunning says:

    Hi Tricia, I’d love to know what rabbit breeds you have!

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      I have Californian and New Zealand. The one that died, Flem, was a mixed Angora.

      Like

  5. Joseph Nebus says:

    Oh, dear. I’m sorry for the lost rabbit.

    As a kid I kept guinea pigs, and they bred very, very fast. Ended up overflowing with cavies before I was able to get them under control, which wasn’t very controlled.

    Our current rabbit is a Flemish giant who’s actually small for the breed, but still bigger than I was through third grade. I live for the times when the cable guy has to visit our house or something and has a moment of realization that that’s a big bunny.

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      🙂 Guinea pigs should be interesting. How did your experience raising them compare to rabbits? Can you keep guinea pigs outdoors?

      Like

  6. “Babies were swmiming in fur curled up like commas” is such a great line. That needs to be in a poem, Tricia.

    Like

    1. triciatallen says:

      Will need to do that then 🙂 Working on some poems for the Open Mike session at Calabash coming up the end of this month. Have you ever been to the Calabash Literary Festival? It will be my first time and I’m already so excited!

      Like

      1. I’ve been to Calabash, and loved it. Get on that open mic, girl!

        Like

  7. triciatallen says:

    Sure will do. Will let you know how it goes. Counting down the days 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.